The Color of Love Blog Hop – 2013

First of all a big thank you to Empi Baryeh for organizing this event! What a wonderful way for current readers of IR/MC romances to find new writers and romance readers to perhaps discover a new sub-genre.

For me I discovered IR/MC romance about three years ago. And I have to tell you it has changed my life.

You see, from my early teens to college I read romances like they were the newspapers. In college, I put them to the side. The relationships didn’t fit the life I led.

As one of only 100 African Americans in my freshman class at Tulane University in New Orleans, the majority of the men I dated were not African American. The man I eventually married is Caucasian. So why read about the alabaster blonde getting the pretty blonde when sometimes he preferred the girl with dark skin?

Then I came upon this short story by Tressie Lockwood, A Friend and A Lover. My first thought was ~ you can write a love story like this? An African American heroine and a Caucasian hero. Really?

Yes, really.

My fascination with the genre has boiled over to actually writing my own romantic tales of Love that cross racial boundaries as described by the 2010 Census Bureau (If you didn’t know some people who were once White are now Asian, but let’s keep this on track).

For your electronic viewing pleasure, I am giving away either one electronic copy of The Beginning of Forever or One Stormy Night to three winners (see the blurbs below).

The Beginning of Forever (a near novel published by Amira Press)

TheBeginningofForeverAmber Grayson, a conservative executive, found true love with fiancé, Kevin Miller. He infused her life with a sense of adventure and challenged her thoughts about appropriate bedroom behavior. After such a steamy affair, Amber was expecting nothing less during their engagement.

Even with the rushed timetable for the wedding combined with the stress of merging their households and finances, Amber is excited to begin a family with the man of her dreams. However, the beginning of forever is more difficult than either of them thought.

Locked in a battle of wills, Amber and Kevin find their commitment to each other and their future tested. Is this the beginning of their lives together or the end?

OSNOne Stormy Night (a sexy short story published by Evernight Publishing)

Alexis Joplin, popular host of the travel show, Overnight Stays, is embarking on her final scouting expedition with her partner and best friend, Shane Fowler. Over the course of the last two years, the duo has grown closer not only at work, but outside of the job. While their friends and co-workers may whisper that something more than friendship is the source of their mutual admiration, they deny it even as their personal feelings are reaching a critical apex. 

Shrouded in the dark beauty of a hundred year old inn, while lightning flashes and thunder rumbles, neither Alexis nor Shane can hold on to the pretense any longer. They give in to one night of passion with the promise that in the morning, they’ll awake as friends. 

But is it a promise they both can keep?

All you have to do is answer the following question in the comments:

What draws you as a reader to the IR/MC genre?

And don’t forget to enter for your chance to win one of the amazing prizes on the hop as a whole by clicking here!

CoL_prize.package

Prize Package:

1st prize: $50 Amazon gift card + 7 ebooks
2nd prize: $30 Amazon gift card+ 7 ebooks
3rd prize: $20 Amazon gift card + 7 ebooks
4th prize: $10 Amazon gift card + 8 ebooks

14 thoughts on “The Color of Love Blog Hop – 2013

  1. You asked: What draws you as a reader to the IR/MC genre?

    I can relate. If the heroine is of color it’s easier to imagine myself in the role. Other than that, I look for a good quality love story! I like the foray into the many different cultures and how love and relationships happen and prosper. The HEA is the ultimate goal.

    Belinda G
    belgre at comcast dot net

    • I also love the look at other cultures. One of my favorite romances deals with a Muslim hero, an Indian American heroine and the idea of arranged marriages – Love Comes Later. It actually sparked an idea of my own!

  2. Hi Val, I too find I can better relate to the heroine when she’s a woman of color. Thanks for participating in the hop. I love your work. :)

    bimmergrlmd at gmail dot com

  3. I love your book covers!

    I love reading IR romance as I have heard many stories of racism etc in my lifetime, and I love reading and hearing about multicultural/IR romances and families :D

  4. The Beginning of Forever sounds great. Starting at (not so) happily ever after… I’m definitely putting it on my TBR list. Thanks for featuring it. and being part of the hop!

Leave a Reply

