Untitled Novella

Sometimes, I listen to conversations that don’t involve me.  It is a terrible habit and one that embarrasses my husband to no end.  But my rude behavior has an upside, characters grow from these bits and pieces of information.

Take for instance this conversation overheard while waiting for a soda a fast food counter:

Man 1: “I don’t know why you put up with that.”

Man 2: “Sister got a French accent” 

This formed the idea of Lorie, the heroine in my current work in progress.  She has grown into a business savvy, sexy islander with a French accent that she uses to soothe and tantalize the man in her life.

I’m glad that I have a few hours to spend with her today.

Leave a Reply

