First Review of In The Moment

I’ve had my first ever review and I am so grateful that she didn’t hate it.

I suffer from writer’s anxiety and question myself constantly about why I would ever have written what I have written.  Though I don’t normally take medications for anything, I would gladly welcome whatever pill or shot was available to overcome the feeling that I shouldn’t have published that.

Here is her review of In The Moment:

The overall feel is gently southern and elegantly hot. While some of the scene transitions are a bit awkward, the story is sweet and the characters are well-developed. A nice, fun read!

This is a review that actually helps me as a writer. In my current work, I will continue to focus on character development and pay special attention to the transitions between scenes.  As I’ve written before, going from writing articles which require concise statements with little to no embellishments to works of fiction meant to entice the reader has been a difficult transition for me.

One thing that made me smile about the review was the phrasing – gently southern. Luckily, I have friends from all over the country and have learned that there are specific interactions that take place in Southern culture that are foreign to those outside of our culture. For example, the South is a place where “Bless her heart” can at times be translated to “F@ck that b$tch and her mama!”

This being said, when Amber refuses to let Kevin shower with her after a night where he has touched and licked every inch of her body is perfectly understandable. After all, Amber is a Southern lady at heart and holds her bathing as a solitary experience. This is her time to prepare herself for her lover. There is a mystery that needs to be maintained.

A special thanks to Fierce Dolan who reviewed In The Moment!

Leave a Reply

