A Lover Of Words – Tragically Imbued

My language is the common prostitute that I turn into a virgin. ~ Karl Kraus

Feeling Karl Kraus and his appreciation and defense of language this week as I muddle through rewrites and revisions. I have thoughts of being a writer, but I am certain that I am a lover of words and  phrases that wield the Power to pull you from singularity to plurality.

I found my love early in life with my grandmother who would often shout at me – “Ah mon beat you till you can’t walk!”

Now most would have shrunk in fear, I however was intrigued by this. Did my grandmother see herself as a Being so far removed from the human experience that she could render another incapable of movement with her bare hands?

As I grew older,  I found other phrases, words that struck a chord within me. Thought I’d share.

You’se something tuh make uh man forgit to git old and forgit tuh die.”  Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston

Because to him, Janie is youthful Life unencumbered by regrets and the notion of the passage of Time is a conscious decision. Isn’t that what romance is about?

She picked up the gun that lay smoking in his hand / She said, Father please forgive me / I can’t make it without my man” as performed by Willie Nelson and Ray Charles

For her, there is no Life without him.

“I have measured out my life with coffee spoons.”  ~ The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock  by T.S. Eliot

Mr. Eliot spoke to me across the generations and I answered, “Not I. Not I.”

Readers, what are those quotes and phrases that resonate within you? Writers, what are the words that inspire you on your journey?

Leave a Reply

