The Half Year In Review – Romance and Mystery

View from Portia’s balcony

It’s hard to believe, but 2012 has reached her halfway mark. I began this year with the plan to live out my childhood dream of becoming a writer. It has been quite an undertaking and oh so much fun! I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to give up my day job, but I am so thankful for the opportunity to share my work and to also say, “This grande cup of white chocolate mocha was bought with my writing money!” (Cause you know my husband looks at me funny when I come in with Starbucks.)

These are the pieces that have brought me much joy during the first half of 2012:

Calendar GirlPUBLISHED! by Amira Press and currently (at time of writing) the #1 Bestseller on the publisher’s website. Wow! I am still jumping around with excitement about this. Also for a hot minute, Calendar Girl was #65 on Amazon UK under the category of Calendars. Sorry for the confusion, but that was funny!

In The Moment – This is a self-published work available on Smashwords and for the Nook. I love the emails that I get about this short story because there is an audience out there that loves Kevin Miller as much as I do. And one of the search engine terms that I occasionally get for the blog is – cowboy stories Kevin or interracial Kevin.

After Party – What a surprise! This is a flash fiction piece that I wrote for Smashwords and it has more downloads than anything I’ve ever written. It truly was a flash of an idea from seeing this huge man and his little pregnant wife.  I kept staring at them thinking about the mechanics involved. But I digress, thanks for reading!

What’s next?

Music For Her Soul – An interracial sensual romance has been submitted for publication. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Holiday Shorts – I have two holiday themed short stories in mind and I am busy for the next few weeks with writing and editing and deciding what to do with them. Self-publish or submission?

Upon An Oyster Shelled Path – This is not a romance, but there is romance in this cozy mystery set in Algiers Point, New Orleans. Algiers Point is a historic neighborhood that lies across the river from New Orleans proper. The photo above, is the view from Portia Andrade’s balcony window. She’s our amateur sleuth, the daughter of a Black mother and Afro-Cuban father. Her Watson if you will is Dr. Naeem Mounier, the son of an Egyptian mother and French father. I have completed the first draft and work continues. I’ll let you know how this goes as well.

Happy Writing!

4 thoughts on “The Half Year In Review – Romance and Mystery

  1. Hi Vallory, I discovered In The Moment from a tweet; read it and absolutely loved! I look forward to reading many more of your works, especially your upcoming holiday shorts. I really enjoy a good romance with a holiday backdrop. 🙂

      • Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve added it to TBR list and will definitely check out her work.

        Are you on GoodReads, (www.goodreads.com)? Would love to “friend” and book chat. 🙂

      • I’m not on GoodReads yet but will look you up when I get there. I’m still in the midst of understanding Facebook! LOL!

Leave a Reply

