Sunday Snippet With Deneice Tarbox

Healing Inc. by Deneice Tarbox

Today’s Sunday Snippet features an interview with Deneice Tarbox, author of Healing, Inc. and she’s offering a giveaway!

All About Deniece Tarbox

Where are you from?  I was born in a small town in Mississippi, but moved to Worcester, Massachusetts when I was very young.  My time in the Army has taken me all over, but I now reside in Maine.

Tell us a bit about your family.  I come from a large family, three girls and three boys.  We used to call ourselves the Black Brady Bunch.

What is your favorite quality about yourself?  My favorite quality about myself is my ability to make people laugh, something I love to do myself.

What is your least favorite quality about yourself?  I am the most stubborn person I know.  I actively try to be more compromising when working with others and think I do a pretty good job of it.  My husband would probably say different.

What is your favorite quote, by whom, and why?  “Be prepared to take on your opponent, no matter what size they are.”  That quote is from my mom, who taught me I should always go for what I want out of life and to never let anyone intimidate me.  To date it has gotten me far in life.

What are you most proud of accomplishing so far in your life?  Raising my son.

What is your favorite color?  Lime Green.

What is your favorite food?  I love Seafood.

What’s your favorite place in the entire world?  The world that I escape to when I’m running is the best place ever.

Deniece’s Journey into Writing

What inspired you to write your first book?  I was inspired to write my first book after going through a major disappointment in my life.  I had been working on my master’s degree and realized that I had spent the last seven years working toward a degree in a field that I no longer wanted to be in.  The problem was I didn’t know what I wanted to do.  I literally woke up one morning and decided to write my first book.

Healing Inc. by Deneice Tarbox

BlurbHealing Inc. is about two people who overcome tremendous circumstances through the love they develop for one another.  It has romance, suspense, and humor to name a few.

Excerpt:

A few hours later, Evy lay sideways on the two chairs that she had pulled out for them to sit on.  She was laughing so hard that she was barely able to keep from peeing on herself.  When Tyler had asked to help out she knew it was going to be a good day.  How often did one get the chance to boss a high profile millionaire around?  But this, she had not expected.

“Oh, hon-ey pa-lease tell me. Tell me! This is not my co-lor.” Tyler stated with an exaggerated lisp while holding a multicolored floral dress over his person.  He then twirled around, batting his long dark eyelashes and striking different poses.  “Oh, girrrl!  I should die my hair harlot red to match this. That would set it off in he-yah!” He made a big circle in front of himself and completed the gesture with a snap of his fingers.  This put Evy over the edge.  She fell off the chairs onto the floor roaring with laughter. 

“Wah so fun-ny now?  Don’t be waving your jealous eye a-round me, girlfriend!” he stated with a roll of his head and more attitude than necessary. 

That did it for Evy.  She sprang from the floor, running for the bathroom.  Tyler gave chase, catching her just before she made it into the small restroom.  She was shocked when he started tickling her.  She struggled not to wet herself; ignoring the tingling sensation that shot through her everywhere his fingers touched her skin.

“Aaaaaggg!” she screamed in between fits of laughter.  “Pleas…pleas…pleaasse” was all she could get out. 

He was laughing so hard himself that he finally let her go.  He started rubbing tears from his eyes and wrapped his free arm around his midsection.  Evy seized the opportunity to rush into the bathroom and take care of business before it was all over the both of them.

What was the hardest part about writing this book?  As strange as this may sound, the hardest part of writing Healing Inc. was controlling the characters, particularly when I was trying to sleep.  I would wake up laughing – and sometimes crying – because of an idea that I dreamed up.

How can we purchase your book? Healing Inc. is available in e-book or paperback at Amazon.com: Amazon Electronic Version or CreateSpace Paperback Version

The Writing Life of Deneice Tarbox

Can we expect any more books from you in the future?  My next book, Finding Love For A Cynic, will be out at the beginning of July 2012.  It’s about a young woman who gives up on the concept that romantic heroes really exist.  I am also working on another Moriatti male story that I hope to have out by the end of the year.

Do you have any specific last thoughts that you want to say to your readers?  To the readers – thank you.  I’ve enjoyed sharing this story with others more than I enjoyed writing it.  I hope those of you who decide to check it out like it.

The “If” Answer by Deneice Tarbox

If you could have a book signing anywhere in the world where would it be and why?  A book signing in Los Angeles, CA would be my place of choice because I have always wanted to visit there.  The atmosphere seems so carefree and the weather perfect.

Giveaway!

Deneice is graciously offering two complimentary copies of Healing Inc. to the first two posters who mention her appearance on the Vallory V ~ A Romance Author Blog on her FaceBook page at www.facebook.com/DeneiceTarbox. Stop by, post and like her page!

Thanks Deneice for visiting and Happy Writing!

4 thoughts on “Sunday Snippet With Deneice Tarbox

  1. Pingback: Val’s Top Ten Posts of 2012 « valloryv

Leave a Reply

