Indie Authors And Book Covers

As an indie author, I write freely. However, I publish on a budget.

Now, I don’t know if this is the right way to do it or not. But I look at each work and  decide where my publishing dollars will go. Will I have a piece professionally edited? Will I  pay for marketing services? Will I have a cover designed?

Editing – After working with an editor for my historical romance project, I must say that this will always be at the top of my list of must-haves. It was more than just making sure that my commas weren’t spliced. It was about finding those things that draw a reader out of the story. Things I couldn’t see. (And Devin, I’m fixing those!)

Marketing – How much free marketing can you do? Lots! I’m not very good at free marketing yet, but I’m learning. Then there is paying for a marketing service, whether a banner on a website or a tweeting service. All good ways to get your name out there.  And who wouldn’t like to reach more readers?

Cover Designs – I must admit that I love book covers and I am drawn to interesting visuals. One of my latest favorite covers is Let Me In by John Lindqvist which shows two kids in the snow with one set of footprints. So very cool!

My first short stories were published on Smashwords with covers I put together before I had an inkling of an idea of what I was producing. Those covers are horrible! I see them on the web and cringe! Then I chose a cover artist and loved, loved her cover for In The Moment! (Thank you, Tatiana!)

So with everything so important, where does that leave my short story budget? During the day, part of my job is looking at the ROI, the return on investment so…

For A Night At The Wesley, which I will publish on Smashwords later this week, I’m relying on a group of readers to help with the editing and…my brother for the cover art. My readers are great and I think they have done a wonderful job! Then there’s my brother. You have to know him.

After two weeks, here are his two concepts:

Concept One

Concept Two

The jury is still out on both…I’ll let you know how it goes.

Happy Writing!

And thanks to Devin Govaere at www.romanceeditor.com and Tatiana Villa at Vila Design

 

Leave a Reply

