Today’s Hero – Jared Prophet with Tyler Robbins

Tyler: I am so thrilled to be here and even more excited to bring along a dear friend of mine, Jared Prophet, one of the heroes from my latest novel, Beyond Honor. For those of you I haven’t met yet, allow me share a little about myself then we’ll put Jared in the hot seat.

Tyler Robbins is the pen name I use for my special line of GLBT stories.

“Beyond Honor” was the first novel of this genre for me, and I must say, has become my most sought after story.

As a young widow with four kids, writing became my outlet to get in touch with the inner “me”. After years of being a wife and mother, I was suddenly just Robin (Robin Badillo, for those of you I haven’t had the pleasure of meeting yet). Times were difficult and change was in order.

Three years after launching this new chapter in my life, I introduced my pen name, and as Tyler, I’ve definitely been a very busy lady.

I’m so happy to be here today and hope you’ll help me welcome Jared Prophet.

Tyler: Thanks for taking time out to visit with me today, Jared. It’s been a busy couple of months for all of us since your story released June 1st. First off, I’m dying to know how you and Michael are doing.

Jared: Nice to see you again, too, Tyler. Michael is great. He’s still caring for the soldiers and their families over at the base clinic. I’m trying to keep busy, too. I just landed a spot as a medic or paramedic for all of you civilians, for our local hospital district. Keeping busy helps the time fly when Michael and I can’t be together.

Tyler: So things are pretty good between you two?

Jared: *smiles widely … Things couldn’t be better.

Tyler: I’m so glad to hear that. The bird’s eye view of your tumultuous beginning had me on pins and needles, so knowing all is well in the land of love makes it all worth it.

Jared: To be honest, I gave Mike a tough time in the beginning. I had some stuff I was working through, but when you have a man like him in your corner…well let’s just say, he left me no choice but to man up and face reality.

Tyler: How’s it been going now that you’re officially “out” of the military and “out” as a gay man?

Jared: *chuckles… I miss living on base and training new medics, but coming home to Michael every night makes up for it. I should probably say that although I was worried I would have had it bad as an openly gay, enlisted man, I missed a lot of what others have experienced since I decided not to re-up just as I came to terms with my sexuality. Michael has taken some hits for it, but it hasn’t been anything we can’t handle. As for being out of the proverbial closet in my personal life, well it is what it is. I’ve lost some friends, but I’ve gained some new friends, or should I say real friends. Michael and I can manage if we stick together and surround ourselves with people who love us.

Tyler: I can’t tell you how happy I am to hear that. I know from getting to know the two of you that you’re quite passionate about your feelings for each other and for those people you care most about.

Jared: Passionate is a term I’ve come to embrace, especially where Michael is concerned. *rubs his jaw and grins wickedly. What can I say, I love him and we care about our friends and family very much.

Tyler: I saw that twinkle on your eye. I take it you were thinking about Michael?

Jared: I’m always thinking about Michael. I owe him so much. Not only did he get me through one of the toughest moments of my life, he’s been my rock. Finding a man like that is rare.

Tyler: Well to be fair, I’m sure Michael feels the same about you.

Jared: Maybe. I mean, yeah, he loves me, but I don’t think I’ve been as good for him as he’s been for me. He knew me before I even knew myself. Does that sound weird? Our friend, Alana, tells me all the time that I’m Michael’s knight in shining armor, but to me, he’s the one who rode in and saved me, not the other way around. Do you think I’ll lose my man card for saying that? *cheeks flush red as the grin grows wider

Tyler: Actually, as a woman and although impartial for obvious reasons, I gotta say that you’re rockin’ the man card quite nicely. Who says a happily ever after story can’t have two heroes?

Jared: Good point. I like the sound of that.

Tyler: So, what are your future plans? Are you guys planning to take the relationship a step farther?

Jared: Just between you and me, if I were going to take the plunge and make our relationship official, I would. As it stands now, that’s not possible in Texas. I will say that if Michael would like a small ceremony, I’d be willing to put a ring on his finger.

Tyler: Holy crap! I hope I’m not hearing about this before Michael.

Jared: No, in fact we’ve talked about it. All that’s standing in our way is timing. If our schedules weren’t so crazy and we didn’t have the thought of him being deployed looming over our heads, we would have already done it. We really just need the circumstances to fall into place and it would be a done deal.

Tyler: Well when that does happen, and I’m sure it will, I hope I’ll be invited.

Jared: We couldn’t imagine a wedding without you. I may even need you to help me with my vows. *winks

Tyler: I think I could rise to that occasion.

Jared: I’m sure between you and Alana, everything would end up perfectly planned.

Tyler: Who knows, you and Alana could plan a double wedding. Then Joel and Michael would be the two luckiest guys on the planet.

Jared: *nodding… I’ll tell her you said that. She’ll be all over this in a heartbeat.

Tyler: It would be the perfect end to the perfect story…or perhaps the perfect beginning to another one.

Jared: Ahh! I can see the twinkle in your eyes. I know that look.

Tyler: If anyone knows that look, it would be you, Jared.

Jared: Now, you have me wondering what the future holds for Alana and Joel.

Tyler: Well we’ll just have to wait and see won’t we.

Jared: *laughs and shakes his head. You’re always up to something.

Tyler: Usually. *Giggles

Listen, I know you and Michael have plans tonight and you really have to get out of here, but I wanted to thank you again for visiting with us today. Please send Michael my love and tell Alana I’ll be in touch.

Jared: You’re very welcome, but I should be thanking you for sharing mine and Michael’s story with everyone.

Tyler: Jared, it was my pleasure.

* * * *

Beyond Honor is available in digital ebook format as well as print from the following locations on the web.

Buy Link: Evernight Publishing

Print Copy: https://www.createspace.com/3964040

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Beyond-Honor-ebook/dp/B0087TXAU8/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1345674385&sr=8-1

AUHTOR BIO: TYLER ROBBINS

Tyler Robbins is the pen name of author Robin Badillo, who lives in a small Texas town and is the mother of four nearly grown kids, two boys and two girls.

Tyler enjoys stepping out of her comfort zone and pushes the envelope on the stories she writes every chance she gets. She hopes her readers are just as thrilled as she is with the chances she’s taking.

Always the optimist, Tyler is a firm believer that grey hair is merely God’s graffiti!

 Connect with Tyler online:

 

7 thoughts on “Today’s Hero – Jared Prophet with Tyler Robbins

  1. Can I come to the wedding?
    Better yet, can I just have Jared and Michael to myself? I don’t mind sharing 😉
    *Sighs* They’re so romantic…So dreamy.
    And there’s nothing better than seeing two hot guys together…Unless I’m in between them of course! xD
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

