The Preacher and the Prostitute by Brenda Barrett

Thanks to Brenda Barrett for making the Vallory V blog a stop on her tour. 

What is your writing process like?

I write mostly at night when it’s quiet and there are no distractions. However, when I am in the zone and my characters are clamouring in my head to come out, I can write at any time.

How do you keep from procrastinating/giving up?

I have a daily things to-do-list, even if I don’t follow exactly what I have on the list, I try to accomplish at least two or three of them. When I organize my schedule like that I wake up each day with a set purpose and I try to push through even when I don’t feel like it.

I love what I do and that makes it much easier for me to keep going. If at anytime I find myself hating a book that I am writing or getting frustrated with the whole process, I leave it alone for days, sometimes months and then re-read what I wrote and fix whatever issues I had with it.

Tell me about your most recent book

My recent book, The Preacher and The Prostitute, was an idea that I had been toying with for a while. I sat down one day and said, what if a pastor fell in love with a prostitute, would it work? Could it work? How can I write that book without it being unrealistic or sleazy?

The plot – The coming together of Maribel, the ex-prostitute and the preacher (Brian) and the subsequent twists and turns were not planned by me. My characters came together and did their own thing. They never seem to follow the plot outline I painstakingly create before I start a book, yet I persist in writing one anyway.

The plot is the usual boy meets girl, except this time the girl is a reformed prostitute and active in the church, and the boy is a pastor who is very conscious of sexual purity.

The attraction between them was immediate and a little disconcerting for Maribel because there was the possibility that her past exploits could raise its ugly head and becoming a stumbling block.

Could Brian, overlook her past if she could muster the courage to tell him?

How long did it take you to write the book?

The first part of the book took me about four weeks to write, it flowed pretty well until I reached the last three or four chapters. Those took me almost five months to write. Nothing I thought of would fit; I put down the book and went on to other projects but one day I took it up and my characters were ready to go again.

What made you think of the idea for your book?

There wasn’t one thing that I could pinpoint that made me say tadah! I am going to write this. I am always fascinated with the meeting of opposites, and I sometimes ponder the possibilities.

About two years ago, a friend of mine, who was starting a movie business in the Caribbean, asked me for some ideas for a movie and I told him I was thinking about writing a book about a preacher and a prostitute. He was so excited about the idea that I left the conversation determined to write the book.

Any other projects in the works?

Yes, my eighth book and first of a series, Private Sins, will be out this month. It is the story about a pastor’s wife who had an affair with one of the church leaders and subsequently got pregnant.

Could she keep the secret from her husband and pretend that all was well? Or should she confess her private sins and let the chips fall where they may?

Do you write full time?

Yes I do. In addition to working on new books I also write for several blogs including my blogs BlackHair101.com and FiwiBooks.com.

Where can people buy your books?

All my books are on Amazon, you can also find them on B&N, Sony, Smashwords etc

Where can we send fan letters? 

Email still works – brenda AT Fiwibooks, but I’m loving twitter – @authorwriterbb

What are some of your favorite books/authors?

This is hard! I have so many favorites; here are some, in no particular order… James Herriot, Lynne Graham, Kwame Dawes, Clive Cussler, Audrey Niffenegger, Jean D’Costa, John Grisham, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Alex Haley, Johanna Lindsay, Louise Bennett, Ellen G. White.

Tell me something random about yourself.

I love to bake, many of my plot lines are formed while kneading bread or baking cookies or whipping up the batter for a chocolate cake.

What is your #1 tip for aspiring authors?

Have a passion for your craft; write for the love of it. At first don’t worry about book sales, if you put out a fair amount of good pieces and interact with readers, your target market will eventually find you, but if you don’t absolutely love writing, go do something else. Life is too short to waste time doing stuff you don’t absolutely love.  Besides, if you don’t absolutely love books and the writing process your readers will instinctively know it.

Where you can connect with Brenda and find her books:

Preacher and the Prostitute: http://amzn.to/MFY3jK

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorBrendaBarrett

Twitter: @authorwriterbb

Amazon:bit.ly/BrendaBAmz

Barnes & Noble:www.barnesandnoble.com/c/brendaabarrett

Blog: FiwiBooks.com

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/user/show/10366453-brenda-barrett

***Brenda is hosting a giveaway! One lucky winner will receive a  $50.00 Amazon Gift Card, check out FiwiBooks for your chance to enter.***

 

4 thoughts on “The Preacher and the Prostitute by Brenda Barrett

  1. Pingback: Preacher and the Prostitute Blog Tour and Amazon $50 GC Giveaway

Leave a Reply

