Sunday Chat with Gemma K. Murray

About the Author

My name is Gemma K. Murray. I was born and raised in lower Michigan. My family were dairy farmers. From a young age, I worked side by side with my parents in the barns. Everyone had their chores. Mine included feeding the cows when they came into the barn and feeding the calves. We worked hard, but it was all worth it.

I’ve worked very hard to accept myself. I’ve never been “enough” in the eyes of a few family members. It has taken 20 years of being with my husband to accept that I am smart enough, talented enough, strong enough, and pretty enough.

I love quotes and collect them like some people collect plates or coins. My favorite? Wow, that’s a tough one. The quote I’ve been carrying in my heart lately is “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.” The amazing Dr. Suess is credited with saying this.

I love the color green and eat Chinese food at least 3 days a week. I’m proud of the fact I got up the nerve to submit my first book which has led me here.

My favorite place in the world (as corny as it sounds) is my husband’s arms. It’s the one place on this earth where no harm will come to me and when I’m having a bad day, they are my soft place to land.

Gemma’s Journey into Writing

I’ve always written poems, thoughts, etc., but it wasn’t until my husband challenged me with the question, “What do you want to do with your life?” that I considered writing for a living. That was ten years ago. It was only one year ago that I got up the nerve to see if anyone would be interested in my stories. I was overwhelmed with emotion to find a publisher actually loved my book and wanted to publish it. They have since accepted the second book for publication.

My determination to not let the men in my life down keeps me writing. My dad and husband believed in me when I couldn’t believe in myself. My dad was able to see my first book published and he told EVERYONE about it. *Smiles* He passed away 5 months ago, but I know he was so proud of my accomplishment. My husband sat down and read my first book. That was quite a compliment since he hates to read. He has since read the second book and is anticipating the third book as much as any of my other readers.

I am most comfortable writing contemporary romance. *laughs* Funny enough, I write urban fantasy/paranormal romance. I read somewhere that you begin to live once you step outside of your comfort zone and writing Keeper of the Golden Dragon’s Heart made me step out of my comfort zone. It was the best thing I did, career-wise. Keeper led me to Natural Born Enemies, which has led to the third book and a new series.

I dream in color and I tend to be able to recall my dreams. That was how Keeper of the Golden Dragon’s Heart came to be. It started off as a dream and led to making my personal dreams comes true. I have a hard time letting the characters lead me to where they want to go. It’s a trust issue. I had to learn to allow the characters to show me the path of their story. It’s still a process to trust each new set of characters, but I’m learning to go with their flow.

Keeper of the Golden Dragon’s Heart by Gemma K. Murray

Keeper of the Golden Dragon’s Heart went off to my publisher with no title since I had no idea how to title a book. My editor read my manuscript and suggested this title.

Book Summary: The Upper Peninsula of Michigan seems like it is another country. The rawness and beauty of the land draws people from every walk of life. What most people don’t realize is there is a little town nestled on the banks of Lake Superior that an entire group of supernatural beings call home. Shifters of every shape and size live there. They raise their families there. Tourists come from near and far to visit the quaint town of Cedar River, Michigan. The tourists never realize they are walking among some of the most unusual beings on earth.

Bowie Golden is a dragon shifter who is in charge of Cedar River’s safety. Until now, the biggest threat to anyone’s safety was Anastasia Plum, a witch/puma-shifter. She has been the town hellraiser since she was a teenager. Now someone has discovered the secret the residents of Cedar River keep for one another. These radicals are determined to eradicate the entire town. It’s up to Bowie to keep them all safe.

Ana has always idolized Bowie. She may have stirred up trouble from time to time, but Bowie or one of his brothers would always get her out of the trouble she was in. One day, it happened. The unthinkable, the unimaginable occurred. Anastasia Plum fell for the “golden” boy. What an unlikely duo – the sheriff and the hellraiser!

Just as these two discover their passion for one another, a group of people is determined to keep them apart. It’s up to Ana to prove that she is the only Keeper of the Golden Dragon’s Heart.

Ana is the daughter of a witch and a puma shifter. She was orphaned at a young age and went to live with the Golden family. She is strong-willed and passionate. She and I butted heads a lot as I worked on this book.

Bowie is the eldest son of the Golden family. As a golden dragon shifter and sheriff, he’s very level-headed. His struggle with falling in love with Ana was hard for me to write. He kept telling me to trust him. I am so glad I did.

I wish I could say there is a deep, dark secret to my writing process, but this was an easy story to write once I learned to listen to Ana and Bowie. They told their story. I just wrote it out for people to read.

You can buy Keeper of the Golden Dragon’s Heart at:

Amazon , B&N , Coffee Time Romance Bookstore , and Leap of Faith Publishing

The  Writing Life of Gemma K. Murray

I do write under a pen name. The reason is I am a very private person and I like my privacy. Should this series really take off, I am hoping to maintain my privacy as best as I can. You don’t find any current pictures of me online either for this very reason.

Natural Born Enemies is the second book in the Cedar River series. It will be released this fall from Leap of Faith Publishing. I am currently working on book three in this series, a YA book on the Fae, and the first book in a spin-off series. I also have 40+ contemporary novels (all written in long-hand) that I need to get added to my computer so I can edit them for submissions.

In five years, I hope Gemma K. Murray is a household name. *laughs* Seriously, I hope to be finished with the spin-off series and finishing up the Cedar River series (yes, there are that many stories). I hope to be writing to my heart’s content and creating worlds that readers really want to read about.

I’ve been blessed with only positive reviews, but I know the bad reviews are out there. I was a reviewer for 4 years so I know a bad review is simply someone’s opinion. Do I like the reviews telling me the reader can’t wait for the next book? Of course, but I know there are people who don’t like my writing style or my stories. That’s okay, too.

The Silly Question

If you could star opposite any film actor in an onscreen love scene, who would it be?

Oh goodness, so many choices! I’d choose Joe Manganiello. He’s the inspiration for the Cedar River fire chief.

Thank you, Vallory, for allowing me to spend the day with your readers. It has been a wonderful day. If your readers would like to find me on the web, here are my links:

Website

Facebook

Goodreads

Google+

I also started a Facebook page where readers can interact with the Cedar River series characters. Here is the link to that page:

Cedar River series

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Chat with Gemma K. Murray

Leave a Reply

