Vallory Welcomes Poet – G.P.A.

All About G.P.A.

  • Where are you from? I am from Chicago, South side specifically.
  • Tell us a bit about your family.  My family is the best team I could be on, better than the best Lakers,Bulls, Patriots,etc
  • What is your favorite quality about yourself?  The best quality about me is that I am relentless in my efforts.
  • What is your least favorite quality about yourself? My tunnel vision can lend itself to neglecting other things.
  • What is your favorite quote, by whom, and why?  “The greatest trick the Devil ever pulled…” Keyser Souza. I like this quote because it is ominous and from one of the greatest movies of all time.
  • What are you most proud of accomplishing so far in your life? I am proud of being the father of a beautiful, young woman who is about to be a teacher. And I can be called “champion”, Moth Storytelling Champion.
  • What is your favorite color? My favorite color is blue but black on a beautiful woman.
  • What is your favorite food? My favorite foods are pizza,chicken wings,and French fries.
  • What’s your favorite place in the entire world? There is no place like home.

 Your G.P.A.’s Journey into Writing

  • How long have you been writing? I have been writing seriously since 2007.
  • What inspires you to write? Beautiful women and life experiences inspire me to write.
  • Do you intend to make writing a career? Writing Poetry, reciting Poetry is my life.
  • Have you developed a specific writing style?  My writing style is brevity but full description with the use of extended metaphors.
  • What is your greatest strength as a writer? My greatest strength as a writer is that what I say everyone can get.
  • Have you ever had writer’s block? If so, what do you do about it? Writer’s bock is a myth,a trick the mind plays.

 G.P.A.’s Current Work

  • Can you share a little of your current work with us?

been called beautiful liar
honesty says that is true
epic loneliness and longing made me write poetry perceived perverse
but believe when poet admits he thought of you in each syllable,each word,each verse
know woman that i love you more than my love for poetry
know that when a tear falls,never let it reach your cheek
apologetically apologize for harsh words or actions in your presence ever i have to speak.
want your satisfaction so surely that will not stop until nectar touches your toes
yes, and orgasmic flood
ask me if these words be spoken true,then will sign unwritten document in blood
inhale your love,exhale more love to you
your approval i so relish
instead you think i embellish
and call me
a beautiful liar

  • Did you learn anything from writing this piece? Women, especially Sistas, want to see action behind the words.
  • How can we purchase your work?  www.iblowyourmind.net

The Writer’s Life

  • Do you write under a pen name and why? G.P.A.(Greatest Poet Alive) is my pen and performing name because one needs separation from his regular life, similar to Bruce Wayne and Batman. Plus, I am the best…ever.
  • What books have most influenced your life? Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger, The Jester by James Patterson, Sweet mangos by Kottyn Campbell, and the Norton Anthology of Literature my Dad gave me are books that influenced me.
  • Who is your favorite author and why? My favorite authors are Dean Koontz,James Patterson,and Carl Weber.
  • Where do you see yourself in five years? I see myself performing Poetry on a TV show, in a movie, and haven written a romance novel.
  • What are your current writing projects now? I am finishing Revenge of the Orgasm.
  • Do you think the market for poets will improve or decline in the coming years? Poets, the original denotative term, must become innovative and support one another in order to facilitate survival then success. Otherwise, the genre of spoken word will run us out. I am fortunate because I write and perform well.
  • What are some general tips for giving a successful poetry reading?  I believe a Poetry reading should be interactive, have a host that has personality and engages the audience, not allow the participating Poets to run the open mic by disregarding the rules, and the Poetry set needs rules of etiquette.
  • What are some of the most common mistakes at poetry readings?  As stated above, the worst thing a lot of Poetry Readings do is that the host allows a Poet or Poets to recite several works and not having a limit of poems And what is worst is not enforcing said limit if there is one.
  • What are the best and worst mediums for publishing poetry? The best way to publish Poetry books is to do it yourself or find a local , small publisher. Otherwise, most of the publishers have exorbitant fees that outweigh the possible gains of having a published work.

 The Silly Question

If you could ask one question of anyone (living or dead, real or fictitious), who would you ask, what is the question and what do you believe is the answer?

If there was one question and one person I would ask it to, it would be Maya Angelou. And I would ask her,”What do you think of my work?” She would say,”My child, it is always a prudent thing to speak so everyone can understand you.”

One thought on “Vallory Welcomes Poet – G.P.A.

  1. Spoken like a true Poet, may all of your goals be accomplished, and you”ll always be G.P.A. (Greatest Poet Alive) Livingston in my books : )

Leave a Reply

