Ooops! The Next Big Thing Blog Hop…

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop – you’ve probably seen this around the blogosphere. Writers discuss their upcoming work and then direct you to the next set of writers in the loop. I was asked to join and then LIFE happened and I had no one lined up to come after me.

I broke the blog hop! Read on for my remedy to keep this thing going.

First here are my answers…

What is the working title of your book?  Deja Vu (The Rose Gold Collection, #1)

Where did the idea come from for the book? This book started in late July 2012 as a short story entitled Next Weekend. I was writing it for a specific publishing line and it was rejected. I reworked the short story and the novel became a series.

What genre does your book fall under? Hmmm? This is always a tough one for me, so let’s go with contemporary romance. The sub-genre is interracial romance. The heat level is to be determined.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie? Zoe Saldana would play my biracial heroine, Darcey St. Claire. David Boreanaz would play Vincent Guidry. He’ll need to darken his hair and wear blue contacts but the facial structure is right.

What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?  Doing something the same way and hoping for different results is the definition of insanity, or is it?

Will your book be self published or represented by an agency/publisher? I’m planning on self-publishing but if you work for a publishing company and like the concept, send me an email!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript? First draft? The detailed outline took two months and the first draft is in progress. I’ve given myself two months to complete the first draft (which is December 31st)!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? I don’t like this question. What other books? How can I compare my book to the ones I love so much? (*I’m not worthy bow*) Why would I compare my book to those I don’t?

Who or What inspired you to write this book? This book was inspired by a short story. The characters kind of developed another life.

What else about your book might interest the reader? Darcey is a heroine who embraces her sexuality. She is fun and flirty and is enjoying her life as exactly as it is. Vincent Guidry is also well aware of his sexuality and the power he commands. These two come together and shock the hell of each other! (On a side note, I find older men sexy.)

Cheers (1)Now to fix the blog hop – The lovely Vivi Dumas chose me! And she correctly garnered two other writers. Visit one of their sites today and let me know which one in the comments section. Leave your email and I’ll gift you a copy of Cheers, the prequel to Deja Vu in the electronic format of your choice. Comments must be posted by 8:59 pm (CST)  on December 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

