Music to Hop By – Holiday Gifts of Love

C

Long before the decorations have gone up and the wish lists have been written, I am blasting Christmas music throughout the house. I have several themed playlists – traditional hymns, gospel renditions of traditional hymns and the more contemporary holiday songs.

Then there is the sad Christmas playlist. It’s the one with songs most suited for playing just as the protagonist in the random Christmas movie truly believes that he or she will not get his or her Christmas wish.

Some of my favorites on this list are:

I’ll Be Home for Christmas (Vanessa Williams):

I’ll be home for Christmas

If only in, if only in,

If only in my Dreams

 
Then there’s Wham!’s Last Christmas, one of those ‘I’m so not over you, but I pretend to my friends that I am’ songs:

Last Christmas, I gave you my heart

But the very next day you gave it away

This year, To save me from tears

I’ll give it to someone special

But my all time favorite sad Christmas song is Please Come Home for Christmas!

Bells will be ringing this sad sad New Years
Oh what a Christmas to have the blues
My baby’s gone I have no friends
To wish me greetings once again
Choirs will be singing Silent Night
Christmas carols by candlelight
Please come home for Christmas
Please come home for Christmas
If not for Christmas by New Years night

You can feel the angst without even hearing the singer’s voice!

Anyway, thanks as always for indulging me and hopping with us, writers! For my little giveaway, three commenters will receive a $5.00 electronic Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift card and an electronic copy of Music for Her Soul simply for saying hi and leaving an email addy.

For the BIG prizes, keep hopping by clicking here!  

Grand Prizes include (please note the swag pack is available for US participants only):

Floral Background in Black and Gold Colors

43 thoughts on “Music to Hop By – Holiday Gifts of Love

  1. Thanks for sharing those great songs. I love Mariah Carey’s version of All I want for Christmas is You

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  2. I remember that BUMMED OUT CHRISTMAS compilation a while back…seems appropriate! I like Pearl Bailey’s “Five Pound Box of Money”–very sassy and cute!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  3. I love christmas hymns and White Christmas! O Holy Night by Mariah Carey is one of my favorites too!
    Thanks for the great giveaway and the chance to win!

    kacidesigns AT yahoo DOT com

  4. anything by Nat King Cole – and I love the Carol of the Bells…
    thank you for the opportunity -all the best to you and yours this christmas!

    glhince at gmail dot com

  5. I really like Last Christmas. But my favorite holiday song is All I Want For Christmas Is You by Mariah Carey 🙂
    Thanks for the giveaway
    by.evie at yahoo dot com dot br

  6. Thanks for the really great giveaway and Merry Christmas My fave Christmas song is White Christmas

    crystaley73 at yahoo dot com

  7. Happy Holidays! Great giveaway! My children keep listening to a Christmas song…I think it’s called “snow globe”…it has a catchy tune and I find myself singing it constantly!
    aprilnu2003(at)yahoo(dot)com

  8. My favorite Christmas song is Silent Night. We listen to Christmas music LITERALLY from Thanksgiving day until New Years Day thanks to a lovely radio station here in town (note the sarcasm PLEASE). While I love a little musical cheer, it gets old really really quickly.

    Thanks so much for the great giveaway!

    Happy holidays to you and yours,
    Marlena
    charmedpoms(at)yahoo(dot)com

  9. i like the funny songs grandma got run over by a raindeer all i want for christmas is my two front teeth the twelve pains of christmas
    kaholgate at ymail dot com

  10. What an awesome hop!! And a fantastic giveaway! Thank you!! My favorite Christmas movie is Christmas Vacation! 🙂 Happy holidays to you all! Best wishes and many blessings!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  11. My favorite thing about this season is cookies; I love making and eating them. Everyone is so willing to share.
    planterofhope at aol dot com

Leave a Reply

