Why I’m not the Next Big Thing…I Can’t Remember Anything

So here was my shot at redemption and I forgot. In case you didn’t know, I was once tagged in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop and forget to get someone to come after me. So when I was tagged again, I thought here’s my shot at redemption. And you know what? I failed. I didn’t send out enough requests and here we are in the same boat.

This is it readers…I am for certain not The Next Big Thing. However in an interest to hawk my work already out there (insert shameless plug here)…

What is the working title of your book?

I don’t have a title yet. It is called WIP – The Conclusion

Amber Meets Her Cowboy3Where did the idea come from for the book?

I have had the characters of Amber Grayson and Kevin Miller on my mind for more than a year now. They have two flash fiction works and a novella, but won’t leave me alone. So I’m giving them a novel and then the three of us are done.

What genre does your book fall under?

This book is a contemporary romance with an element of kink. Kevin likes to use toys. He wouldn’t necessarily define himself as living the BDSM lifestyle but he is sure glad that Amber bends over accepts her paddling when he wants her too.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

Gabrielle Union would play the heroine. I like the lines of her face and her complexion is perfect for Amber Grayson. The male lead was hard to choose. Kevin Miller is two years (eighteen months if you ask Amber) younger than Amber. With the 30ish actors available, I was hard pressed to find one rugged enough to play Kevin, until I came across a photo of Channing Tatum. Click here for the photo. I think it’s the buckle on his jeans!

What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?

Just as Amber, a self-assured woman, and her fun loving cowboy are about to settle into blissful harmony, LIFE interrupts with its problems that need to be solved.

Will your book be self published or represented by an agency/publisher?

This will be self-published ( and professionally edited). On my soapbox for a moment, I don’t think that the general public realizes that there are self published works that go through the same critiquing and editing processes as traditionally published works. Here’s the difference, indie authors pay for it from the proceeds of their day jobs!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

This work is in its outline form and is currently at 13,000 words which is the length of the novella.  This portion has taken two months to write.
What other books would you compare this story to within your genre? 

I don’t know. Email me (t.mailhes(at)yahoo(dot)com) for a copy of any of my works between now and December 31, 2012 and you tell me so I can be prepared for this question next time. I hate to think that some author was dismayed at my work being compared to his or hers. But if a reader says it, that’s a whole different animal!

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Let’s call it coercion. I couldn’t get Amber and Kevin out of my head. Maybe it’s because they were my first foray into the writing world.

What else about your book might interest the reader?

This book will act as a stand alone with enough information so that you don’t have to read the novella, In the Moment, or the flash fiction pieces, Rainy Day Surprise or A Miller Tradition. But why wouldn’t you? It’ll only cost you $.0.99 plus tax!

~Val

Thank you Kassanna for inviting me to be a part of the Next Big Thing!

Leave a Reply

