New Year’s Blog Hop – 2013!

Happy New Year and welcome to the New Year’s Blog Hop!

Happy New Year - champagne and party decoration

This holiday has changed through each of the stages of my life. When I was a kid, New Year’s Eve was a boring grown-up party where the cousins and I were gathered around a card table playing Battleship and Monopoly. If we made it to midnight, we went outside and held sparklers while the dads shot off fireworks in the backyard.

As a teenager, it was the worst ever. I wasn’t allowed to go to parties so I was still sitting in the backroom with the cousins playing Atari games.

Oh but then came college!

There is nothing like New Year’s Eve in New Orleans. The party would start on someone’s Uptown patio with dinner and a few adult beverages. Then we’d walk to the streetcar and ride into the French Quarter. Live music, people from all over the world, kisses on balconies and a few more adult beverages.  Then we’d head down to Jax Brewery to watch the baby drop and enjoy the fireworks from the twin barges on the Mississippi River. After that? Back to the French Quarter. Our goal each year was to ride back Uptown on the streetcar and not have to get a cab. That meant we’d have to party until 5:30 AM. My little group seldom missed our goal.

Now New Year’s Eve is creating a kid friendly interactive event with the Wii and trophies and cupcakes! How things have changed.

Cheers (1)Perhaps it was nostalgia that led me to my latest heroine; she is truly a woman after my younger, single heart.

As a successful Sales and Catering Manager for the posh Hayden Court Hotel located in New Orleans’ famed French Quarter, Darcey St. Claire is absolutely thrilled to be working on New Year’s Eve.  The commission and bonus she’ll receive from the two day Guidry Construction event will not only fund her spring trip to New York City, but buy a cute pair of shoes for the plane ride!

Her enthusiasm quickly turns to barely disguised irritation when Vincent Guidry arrives hours early for his scheduled check-in, demanding access to his suite.  After he slashes the budget for the event, not even the crystal blue eyes of the former quarterback can quell the anger surging in her chest.

That is until he walks into the Chat Noir where she is trying to regroup after her irksome day.

In the private enclave known as the Cristal Room, Vincent willingly lights up Darcey’s New Year’s Eve and may have lost his heart in the process to the young woman who isn’t looking for anything serious.

Get your copy at Amazon, All Romance and Smashwords

Since you’ve guessed by now where I think is the best place to spend New Year’s Eve, tell me where you’d love to ring in the New Year! Three random commenters will receive a $5.00 electronic gift card from either Amazon or Barnes & Noble, so remember to leave your email address.

And continue hopping for a greater chance to be one of the winners of one of these grand prizes (the third prize is not an international prize):

Floral Background in Black and Gold Colors

93 thoughts on “New Year’s Blog Hop – 2013!

  1. Thanks for taking part in the blog hop and Happy New Year. I live in Las Vegas and have done the Fremont Street Experience as well as the Strip experience. People coming here for the first time would probably have fun with either of those places on New Years. Me? I’ll happily stay home and away from the crowds. lol

    miztik_rose@yahoo.com

  2. I’ve always spent my new year’s eve with family in the countryside, so for a change, how about one in the big cities? NYC or London, perhaps?

    Happy new year!

    bedsidelight
    ATgmailDOTcom

  3. When I was younger I watched the ball drop in NYC & the madness that is Times Square. Now, my celebrations are much quieter. Although, I’d love to celebrate a new year in Sydney; at least you wouldn’t be freezing standing outside. 🙂

    Happy New Year, Val!
    bimmergrlmd at gmail dot com

  4. I would love to be one of the first to celebrate the new year in New Zealand. Happy New Year and thanks for the giveaway!
    ~Krista
    pinkbonanza{ AT }gmail{ DOT }com

  5. I’m not a fan of crowds so I like to stay home on new year’s eve. I usually have people over and we play games and light the firepit in the backyard and hang out until midnight. I usually have a house full and they all stay the night.
    Happy New Year, Vallory! Hope you had a great one.
    danao.b7(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Scotland would be awesome. But, alas, my hubby, kids, and I were just arriving home from holiday travel at midnight on New Year’s eve. We did share a quick kiss, but mostly, it was all about rushing around to get the sleepy kids in bed.
    But we had a great trip, and are all so glad to be home!
    jessigage at gmail dot com

  7. We usually spend it at home but I’d love to ring in the new year in NYC just one year

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  8. We’ve dreamed and dreamed of spending New Year outside our small city — but, unfortunately, it’s one of the most expensive times of the year to travel.

    Would love to see New York, Australia, Tokyo and Paris during their New Year’s Eve celebrations. ^_^

    Thank you for the great giveaway!

    Happy 2013!

    – Tin (khriscc at yahoo dot com)

  9. I’d like to ring in the new year once in New York. I think the energy would be thrilling! Just once though. I prefer to stay cozy at home in a quiet place overall though 🙂 With family.

    Thanks so much for the chance to win. It’s a great way to start the year. No major resolutions beyond reading a lot (let’s go 50 books!) and staying active (jog, jog!), but I hope you have a great year 🙂

    Thanks again!

    hisboywonder(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. I would love to go to Scotland or Ireland, maybe a little pub crawling for the New Year.

    proudarmymom32(at)yahoo(dot)com

  11. I think the best place is anywhere my hubby is with me so i get to kiss the man of my heart and soul… mushy i know but he kisses really good and after almost 14 years together he still gives me butterflies,

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  12. We ring in the new year at home but if given the chance I would love to be somewhere else in the world just to experience it from their perspective .

    Dawna N.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  13. Happy New Year!

    My resolution is to spend more time on myself. I spread myself to thin. Maybe getting a cloning machine up and running would help!

    ~*Drea*~
    dreabecraft(@)aol.com

  14. I acutally like spending New Year’s Eve at home. It’s the one holiday hubby and I spend alone together. We have a nice candlelight dinner then stay up, watch the ball drop and toast with champange. It was lovely. Thanks for the chance to win and Happy 2013!

    maeclair (at) maeclair (dot) com

  15. I usually spend New Year`s Eve at home, but I`d love to do it in Paris, NYC and London!
    Thanks!

    dita(dot)skarste(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. When I was younger I would have said at a club, surrounded by all my best girlfriends, dancing, drinking & having a blast. Now I’m older & settled down so my ideal place for New Years Eve is at home with my man, cuddling watching movies on the tv til I get that kiss at midnight. 😀
    Happy New Year
    Missie Jones
    missie25524 (at) netzero (dot) com

  17. I’m not a big crowd person, so I like to stay at home with friends and family. Thx for the hop stop.

    blinkysthebest at aol dot com

  18. I’m happy relaxing at home away from the insanity but able to see on tv 🙂 happy new year
    gamistress66(at)aol(dot)com

  19. We are very low key around our house. We have friends over, the kids play, the adults play board games and try new drinks. Lots of food, laughter, and fun. Not to mention, the doggy gets lots of attention from everyone.

    Happy New Year.

    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  20. Hi! Happy New Years! I spent the day with my family. We watched movies, put together a puzzle and toaster in the new year. Thanks for the awesome hop and all the giveaways! This is so fun! I love these hops! I always meet new authors, reconnect with old ones and my TBR list grows by leaps and bounds! Thank you!! Have a great day! Best wishes and many blessings to you!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. If I could go anywhere to ring in the New Year, I’d have to say Scotland (Hogmanay and all). However, my New Year’s Eves tend to be pretty tame. My mom and I traditionally have our “midnight meal” consisting of appetizers and snack foods, while we wait for the ball to drop. We sip on sparkling pear juice instead of wine.
    tp DOT quixotic AT gmail DOT com

  22. Happy New Year! My New Years traditions are easy, I spend time with my family and friends. I can’t think of a better way to ring in the new year. My resolutions this year is as always to loose a few pounds and spend a little more time with my family.

    Ifightforlove36@gmail.com

  23. I’d like to spend New Years with my family and friends having dinner and playing cards in our home! We can drink and eat all night and celebrate!

    kacidesigns AT yahoo DOT com

  24. I think it might be fun to ring in the New Year in Australia. Thanks for the giveaway.

    thompsonem3 at aol dot com

  25. Pingback: And the Blog Hops Have It- Ten Most Popular Blog Posts of 2013 | valloryv

Leave a Reply

