Amber Grayson…Whining B!tch

There is something so exciting to me about being a writer and connecting with readers. I think we live in an extraordinary age in which readers can connect with a writer through email, Facebook, Twitter or a number of other different means. It amazes me.

Thank you all you for taking the time out of your lives to contact me about  about any of my works.

Amber Meets Her Cowboy3However, due to the number of emails and reviews regarding Amber Grayson of In the Moment, I thought I’d let one my favorite characters have another moment on the blog.

Vallory Vance: Amber, thank you so much for joining us here today. (She is impeccable in a gray pinstriped suit. Her long dark brown hair cascades over her shoulders in a wave of curls despite the blustery weather outside.) I’m sure you have had the opportunity to read the reviews of the In the Moment and the emails.

Amber Grayson: I have.

VV: And there is a…I don’t want to say consensus…but there are some who see you as a…a bitch. What do you say to that?

AG: I say read the novella. As much as I love Kevin, as recorded by you (she takes out her Kindle and swipes through to the following passage, reciting without emotion)

After half an hour, Kevin pulled the truck into the driveway of the estate. A blonde in a light blue suit and a very tall Black woman in a black suit smiled and waved. Kevin looked at the petite blonde and glanced at Ronald. “He’s fucking her.”

Neither he nor Ronald thought I could be running the show at this point. And in every professional encounter I have, I have to push past that sort of thinking. If that makes me a bitch, then so be it.

VV: (I have to take a cleansing breath because she’s looking at me like I said it.) And there are those who are taken aback by your wavering between your ex-fiance and Kevin. Do you have anything to say to that?

AG: I cry sometimes, Ms. Vance. I’m not a robot. And whether or not it is politically correct  there are times Kevin is the only one to soothe my pain.

VV: Yeah, I know. He’s just that kind of guy.

AG: Yes, he is. Is there anything else?

VV: Ah, a co-worker of mine recently professed her love for Kevin. How do you feel about that?

AG: My fiance can be very engaging. The key word in that sentence is ‘my’, if you are wondering.

VV: Ohhh, damn!  And on that note – Happy Writing

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

