The Tortured Hero Blog Hop Was Canceled.

Portrait Of Young ManHowever, I’d still like to do my post as I thought it was really cute and I had this gorgeous man as the poster boy for the tortured hero!

Tortured and brooding are the best qualities for movie romantic heroes to me. During the course of the film you get to see the tough exterior they have developed begin to crack until they are all soft and mushy under the gaze of the one they love. They may even shed a tear or two.

Awww…

Two of my favorite tortured heroes are:

Jack Twist in Brokeback Moutain

In this 2005 film set in the Alberta Mountains, a ranch-hand and a rodeo cowboy begin a lifelong affair filled with complications and tragedy that shows the endurance of love.

My favorite line: I wish I knew how to quit you. (Jack to Ennis)

Melvin Udall in As Good As It Gets

In this 1997 film set in New York, an obsessive compulsive writer is thrown out of his comfort zone when he has to care for his neighbor’s dog and the only waitress who will tolerate him has to leave work, leaving him incapable of having breakfast. This leads to a weekend trip in which the unlikely trio discover the true meaning of love and tolerance.

Best scene:

Melvin Udall: Don’t be pessimistic, it’s not your style. Okay, here I go: Clearly, a mistake. I’ve got this, what – ailment? My doctor, a shrink that I used to go to all the time, he says that in fifty or sixty percent of the cases, a pill really helps. I hate pills, very dangerous thing, pills. Hate. I’m using the word hate here, about pills. Hate. My compliment is, that night when you came over and told me that you would never… all right, well, you were there, you know what you said. Well, my compliment to you is, the next morning, I started taking the pills.

Carol Connelly: I don’t quite get how that’s a compliment for me.

Melvin Udall: You make me want to be a better man.

Those are my Awww movie moments for the day! Please feel free to share yours!

11 thoughts on “The Tortured Hero Blog Hop Was Canceled.

  1. Hi Val!!
    Love the site 🙂

    I have so many lol.

    Which is probably the reason I became a romance writer too hahaha!

    The scene between Fitz and Olivia in the Oval garden where he tells her he breathes her, she is him, and he can’t function without her.

    But one of my all time favs is from Adin Quin and the 1998 movie Practical Magic.

    Sally: “You wouldn’t know if it was the spell I cast that makes you feel the way you do, or the fact that I didn’t want to go to jail.”

    Adin: ( The Det.) “Well, curses only have power if you believe in them, and I don’t.” He walks away from her, pauses, looks back and says softly. “The problem is, I wished for you too.”

    *sigh*
    I just gush every time I watch that scene.

    Have an Awesome Day!

    Alexandria Infante
    http://www.poisonedpin.webs.com

Leave a Reply

