Weekday Chat with Author Tracee Ford

I’m very excited to have Tracee Ford stop by the blog today. She has been a very busy person lately hosting an author a day in the Spring Fever Blog Tour, so I’m happy she took some time away to visit!

65836_516565355041167_956408201_nFirst I want to thank Vallory Vance for inviting me to be a guest.  Networking is so important in this business and helping one another is vital to survival.  So, thank you so much!

I should start out telling you a little about myself, I suppose.  My name is Tracee Ford and I’m a newly published author.  I am a member of the Paranormal Romance Guild and my work is published through Injected Ink Productions, an imprint of PDMI Direct Publishing. My goal is to bring to my readers inspiring tales of romance and characters who face insurmountable odds, yet emerge triumphant, sprinkled with the fantastical possibilities of the paranormal, of course.

I am also a playwright, director, and puppeteer. I have written scripts and directed plays for local churches as well as for local community activities to bring awareness to children about body safety.

I write paranormal romance, romantic suspense, and crime novels. When I am not writing, reading, or completing my supervisory duties for a local child protection agency, I enjoy quality time with friends and family.

I am an Ohio country girl turned author and began writing at the age of sixteen. Early works included poetry and nonfiction. My nonfictional writings focused on my areas of study as an undergraduate in social sciences and psychology at Shawnee State University. I completed more nonfictional research while working on a master’s degree in forensic psychology through The University of North Dakota.

My first book, The Fine Line, was originally self published through BookLocker.com.  However, in the search for a publisher for my second title, I found PDMI.  Well, rather, we found each other.  I fell in love with their honesty, integrity, team approach, and their vision for success.  PDMI is a group who thrives on the team approach to creativity, encourages their authors to reach for the stars, and provides their writers with the wings to do it!

PDMI read The Fine Line and fell in love with it.  So, the book was re-released by them on April 12, 2013 and I terminated the publication with BookLocker prior to that.  Here are some things I think are important to know about my book.  The book falls under several genres, including paranormal romance (minus the vampires and werewolves), horror, sci-fi, fantasy, and general fiction.  However, don’t let the “horror” label fool you.  This book is packed full of inspiration.  It is far from “hollywood horror.”

This book follows the lives of Robin and Matt Gregory as they fall in love and marry.  Matt finds a house, Pikeview Manor, in a quiet part of the county.  When the couple moves in, they find that the home is already occupied by… others.  The paranormal factor is fascinating, yes, but it’s Robin and Matt’s determination and faith that is the key to this story.

The Fine Line is about being open to possibilities and learning to trust in things that seem fantastical.  It’s not a religious book either.  It’s a look at how positive can beget positive, in spite of heartbreak and challenges.  The purpose of this book is to reach out to readers and say to them, “Nothing is too dark to overcome.”

With that being said, here’s the official synopsis:

fine line coverSet in Southwestern Ohio, Dr. Matthew Gregory and Robin Hillard meet, fall passionately in love, marry, and settle into their newly restored historical dream home originally constructed in the 1800’s.  However, their dreams of a happy life together are challenged by misfortune surrounding the purchase of the home.  Soon, they realize that they have stepped into another world, filled with spirits, paranormal phenomenon, and unexplainable realities.  The stark realizations as well as other traumas challenge their personal beliefs, the stability of their marriage and, most of all, their sanity.  Matt’s logical, scientific certainties are defied when his daughter, Olivia, realizes she is a psychic medium and is able to communicate with the dead.  Robin recognizes that her dreams are actually visions of the past directly associate with the previous owners of the home.

The Gregory family soon learns that there is a fine line between the world they live in and the world they can’t see.  They seek direction through organized religion as well as through unconventional methods in an effort to understand the strange world of the paranormal.  Ultimately, the family grows stronger and the relationship between Robin and Matt becomes unbreakable.  They finally realize that they can face anything as long as they are together and have faith.

On the last Saturday of the month I present a “sneak peak” of the book on my blog and website.  Here’s an excerpt from the book:

The day wore on. Troubled by the conversation with her husband, Robin knew staying busy was her best option for keeping her mind off of things. So she continued with her laundry chores. Standing in the basement at the long table with towels scattered about, she listened to the music playing on her phone. Suddenly, the music faded out and then stopped. She grabbed the device and shook it. “Damn,” she whispered. She assumed the battery went dead.

Quickly, the room temperature dropped and the hair on her arms and neck stood up as the goose bumps peppered her skin. The fog from her lungs expelled from her mouth. She realized she was seeing her breath. An invisible strength wrapped around her neck unexpectedly and the gasps for air were futile. Terrified, she clutched her throat trying to remove whatever was choking her. Coughing and panting, the tears began falling down her face. Her feet felt as if they were lifting from the ground and the grip around her neck worsened. Unable to scream or even speak, she realized the urgency of the moment.

Finally, she felt the release and bent over the table trying desperately to catch her breath. When her ability to speak returned, she screamed for Matt and heard him running through the house. The basement door swung open so hard it shook the drywall at the top of the stairs. He thundered toward her as she continued resting her elbows and torso on the laundry table.

“Robin!” he shouted.

She still struggled to breathe. “I felt like I was being hung.”

“Hung?”

“Yes. My music on my phone completely stopped and the next thing I knew the room got cold. I felt like something was hanging me. I felt my feet lift off of the ground,” she cried.

She stood up and dropped into Matt’s chest, sobbing uncontrollably.
“I’m here now,” he said softly as he caressed her hair. “It’s okay. I’m here.”

The book has been reviewed by several individuals and everyone has said wonderful things!  Below you’ll find some quotes from the reviews.

“I urge you, dear reader, to immerse yourself in the world created by Tracee Ford. Get hold of ‘The Fine Line’. Lock the door, take the phone off the hook and fall in love with a book, as I did. I’ve only scratched the surface in this review and with good reason; you need to discover the work of this brilliant author for yourself. You’ll be glad you did.”
Nathan de Ravin

*****************
“Tracee Ford has created a cute, fun and unique piece of ‘paranormal’ writing WITHOUT including vampires OR werewolves which is rare these days. I enjoyed the storyline, it was refreshing and different, even if it was a little jumpy at times.

The characters were believable and lovable. The dialogue flowed smoothly and there was no awkwardness.

I can’t wait to see what Tracee Ford brings out next!”
Skyla Madi, Goodreads

*****************
“Just wanted to let you know I finished your book today and it was very very good, I couldn’t put it down. I’ll be looking forward to your next one.”
Joe Collins, Facebook
*****************
“Just finished your book and it was great . Loved the story line and exactly my beliefs of how we got here and where we go from here!!!!Started reading and did not want to put it down. Good job!”
Jan Sturgill, Facebook
*****************

“I loved this book because it was the exact amount of fright for me. It made me think and be filled with angst, all without making me sleep with a night-light! This type of book I could devour everyday. The storyline and characters were excellent! The buildup with Robin Hillard, our main character, and Dr. Matthew Gregory was again perfect…  NOT going to say anything else except READ it NOW!! I can’t wait to read Undone which will be out soon!”
                        –Renee Giraldy, Reading Renee Blog

*****************
“There are just enough paranormal type occurrences to be interesting, and they flow through the storyline of their whole romance story without being dark and scary. She makes us remember that some dark could be out there without making it seem as scary. There are a lot of people that can relate to the characters and their individual beliefs.

I would certainly recommend this story to anyone that loves romance and a happy family ending. It is fun to join these characters in their journey and it is easy to read and follow along with what is happening in the story. It is filled with just the right details to keep it interesting.
Lisa Lambson, Paranormal Romance Guild

*****************

“WOW. The Fine Line blew me away. From the synopsis I knew there is a paranormal twist and I couldn’t wait to dive into it. It is what drew me to read it in the first place…  I really enjoyed reading The Fine Line, such a beautiful story. It had everything that I would want love, angst, scars, spirits, paranormal twist. What more could I want?  My verdict? 4.5 brilliant stars.”
Trisha Rai, Devoured Words

 Where you can purchase:

Smashwords, Amazon, PDMI Direct (available in paperback)

Where you can find Tracee Ford:

2 thoughts on “Weekday Chat with Author Tracee Ford

  1. Pingback: Among the Land of Reality | Tracee Ford

Leave a Reply

