The Loving Day Blog Hop ~ 2013

375756_643056912384666_1635496242_n_swirlawardsWelcome to my stop on the Loving Day Blog Hop

Loving Day, celebrated on June 12th, marks the anniversary of the 1967 United States Supreme Court decision Loving vs. Virginia which made all anti-miscegenation laws in the U.S. null and void. In this usage, the term ‘miscegenation’ refers to marriage, cohabitation, sexual relations and procreation between Whites and non-Whites.

Mildred and Richard Loving, an interracial couple, were legally married in Washington in 1958. Not knowing this was illegal in their home state of Virginia, they returned to Richmond. It was here, after numerous arrests and home invasions by local authorities, that the couple began their fight to have their union legalized.

As a family we recently watched the documentary, A Loving Story, about the Lovings. So I asked the kiddos if they had feelings they could share about growing up with a Black mom and a White Dad and how different it was for the Lovings’ children.

MagLane

Girls are 9 and 6 in this pic. It’s one of my favorites.

Vallory: Girls, please tell the readers how you feel after watching the documentary about the Lovings.

Magdalene: It was really sad and I couldn’t believe that it happened. If that was still a law, half of my friends’ parents would be in jail.

Laneybell: I cried. I wouldn’t want you and daddy to go to jail.

Vallory: Do you think people treat you differently because you have a Black mom and a White dad?

Magdalene: People are surprised when they meet one of you without the other. Then when either you or Dad shows up, they’re like – Your mom’s Black? Or, your dad’s White? I thought you were Mexican! But they are just surprised. That’s all.

Laneybell: Everybody thinks I’m Mexican, Puerto Rican or Indian and then I tell them my mommy’s Black and my daddy’s White. Then they’re like – Okay!

Vallory: Thanks girlys!

A lot has changed in the 46 years, since the Supreme Court’s decision and I think my happy little ones are proof of that. But there is still work to do and bringing attention to Loving Day is a start.

To celebrate, I’ll be gifting a $10.00 e-card for either Amazon or Barnes & Noble to one lucky commenter. To be eligible to win, please leave your email address and let us know how we should celebrate Loving Day.

I think it should a special dinner with the one you love! Kinda like a national date night. And speaking of a date, that’s where my latest release starts.

Déjà Vu begins with one date.

BookCoverImageAmazonDarcey St. Claire is never surprised when a man is attracted to her. In fact, her style revolves around that assumption. From her short skirts to her thigh-high boots to her flirty laugh, Darcey flits along the edge of provocation to sell the overpriced services of the Hayden Court Hotel and afford her the spot as top Sales Manager.

So the lustful looks Vincent Guidry cast in her direction didn’t faze her. It was the feeling of déjà vu creeping up her spine that made her run at breakneck speed away from the handsome former quarterback.

And she wouldn’t have ever sought him out again. Not for herself. But there was someone else to consider…

View the trailer on Youtube: Déjà Vu

Now available from All Romance, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords

Good Luck and don’t forget to visit the next author on the hop, Eve Vaughn

**PS – Miss Magdalene says that anyone who says her name is beautiful should get a double entry.** Winner will be announced on Thursday!

20 thoughts on “The Loving Day Blog Hop ~ 2013

  1. Happy Loving Day! I love it! We should always love each other!
    Thank you for the giveaway and the lovely post 🙂 It was fun to read Magdalene and Laneybell’s answers! Thank you for sharing!

  2. I think I will tell my parents I LOVE them! I know that Loving Day is about interracial couples so I will also think about the beauty in loving who you love!
    Oh, and Miss. Magdalene… your name is BEAUTIFUL!

    mestith at gmail dot com

  3. I think your girls are beautiful with beautiful names… If either of my boys were girls they would be named LilyAnne… An way I think the way to celebrate Loving day is to tell those you love that no matter what someone’s skin or race you can be friends or love them as long as they have a good heart. That is what i tell my boys and what my mom told me. 🙂

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  4. Loved getting the girls point of views and re actions… I think people forget alot of times it’s more than just the couple involved…
    I would spend Loving Day doings 1 thing that each person really loves to do…

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. That was such a cute little interview! And your daughters are adorable! I have mixed children and people always ask me about my boys.
    I have noticed that children don’t treat them any different than they would anyone else. People are always telling me how handsome my boys are. 🙂
    I am very appreciative of what the Lovings did for the rest of us.
    I like your idea of how to celebrate. We could all use a date night, I’m sure!
    Thank you for sharing.
    trb0917 at gmail dot com

  6. Hi! Great post! I love this hop! Its great to see so many on here! 🙂 Your daughters are beautiful!! Gorgeous! Very cute interview! 🙂 People make way to much a fuss on skin color. Its ridiculous. Its a color, were all the same. People are so simple minded and i feel sorry for them. IR couples are beautiful and i love it that, in our society, they dont give a damn about what others think. People should chase there happiness. People that put value on a skin color, doesnt deserve happiness. When i look at people, i dont see color. I see personalities, uniqueness, difference. And i love it! People who are racist need to quit. Grow up, open there eyes and embrace others. Our world would be terribly boring if we were all the same. I love that were all different. Thank you!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. Thank you for sharing your story. Love the post and the picture of your kids. You have beautiful children with wonderful names! 🙂

    Hmmm, to help share the “Love” I’d suggest making little cards that say “You were Loved today!” with a brief explanation about the Loves and then I would do something kind for someone and then hand them the card.

    Email mherrera@gmx.us

  8. Pingback: And the Blog Hops Have It- Ten Most Popular Blog Posts of 2013 | valloryv

Leave a Reply

