Real Life Characters – My Writing Confession

My computer crashed and I’m not writing this weekend. Knowing this, I had planned a weekend of deep cleaning of the house. But a co-worker got me thinking about writing yesterday and I haven’t been able to stop.

We were talking about her upcoming trip to New Orleans and I was recommending hotels.

The thought of standing on a balcony of one of my recommendations with my former mentor flashed in my mind. She was a phenomenal sales woman – dressed to kill, beautiful, smart and possessed with a take no prisoners attitude.

MihaelaSo here’s my confession – my mentor became the basis for Darcey St. Claire of Deja Vu. Looking at the two women side by side would leave you scratching your head. On the surface, they are nothing alike – different races and different world views. But they both have the drive to succeed and they both overcame something pretty bad to get their happily ever after.

While I’m in confessing mode, Amber of In the Moment is also based on a real life person. She is a former manager of mine.

Everyone jumped to attention when this woman came into the room and nobody wanted to be called into her office! She was always elegantly dressed, not a hair out of place but you didn’t normally think pretty when you looked at her just – “Please don’t fire me.”

interracial couple sleepingThen one night, I was attending a going away party for a friend and was seated at the same table with my manager and her husband. My mouth hung open for most of the night. First of all the picture on her desk didn’t do this man justice, he was gorgeous. And he couldn’t keep his hands off of this woman. She squirmed and giggled throughout the night.

She became real to me that night.

When we returned to work on Monday, I wasn’t as nervous around her as I’d once been. She was just doing her job – one that an African-American woman had never held for our hotel chain. And I knew that when she got home, the heels and the suit came off and she snuggled up next to her man.

So y’all I’m not as creative as most. Be careful around me or you just may end up as the heroine of a sensual romance!

 

Leave a Reply

