Hump Day Hook – September 4, 2013

It’s time for the Hump Day Hook! A group of authors sharing a small bit of their WIPs or already released works. Click the icon to discover your next great read!

humpdayhook

This week I’m sharing from The Beginning of Forever, a contemporary romance to be released on September 6, 2013 by Amira Press. Where does this scene begin? The hero discovers the truth behind his heroine’s infertility treatments.

TheBeginningofForeverThough it only seemed like a few seconds from the time her eyes closed on a room faintly lit with sunshine, her lids were opening again to a view of Kevin’s firm backside. Dim light from a lone streetlamp streamed through the opened blinds into their bedroom, highlighting the deep contours of his back as he slid a pair of boxers over his trim hips. Thoughts of their morning swirled around her in the wisps of steam curling from his body which scented the air with sandalwood and mint. Would her night end like her morning began?

No, because he was quiet. During arguments about working or anything else Kevin never raised his voice. He was just…quiet. “I want to talk about that treatment.”

“There’s nothing to talk about. The cycle is over and…”

“You weren’t honest with me. That wasn’t the preferred method.”

“It’s the most effective.” She shifted up to sitting position, forcing her eyes to meet his.

“I trusted you to tell me the truth. And you didn’t. So what I read was…debilitating side effects for a forty percent chance at impregnation. And we’re not gonna do that, Amber.”

“This is the best way. I wasn’t completely honest but I thought we wanted a baby.” Her voice pitched louder in sharp contrast to his.

“Don’t turn this into an argument about a hypothetical child.”

“Hypothetical?” She flipped the comforter off her legs and stood up to face him. “Kev…”

“Amber…you’re not gonna die for this.”

“It’s not killing me. I’m fine!” She shouted. “If you don’t want to push over a fucking wastebasket or bring me a glass of water then don’t.”

 “Do you think your tirades are going to scare me? Cause you’re sadly mistaken, Sweetpea.”

She peered directly into his narrowed gaze, daring him to speak. To continue with his rant.

And he did.

8 thoughts on “Hump Day Hook – September 4, 2013

  1. Interesting set up. I’m sort of leaning towards the idea that if they are a couple and he’s going to be expected to look after the kid if she dies she should have discussed the risks with him.

    That’s the calmest most reasonable rant I’ve ever seen. 🙂 He’s nice, I like him.

Leave a Reply

