Boyfriend Tag with Kevin Miller

happy mixed couple at homeI actually bounced out of bed this morning, readers. And I don’t bounce. It takes too much effort and it’s bad for your knees.

This morning though, I am driving to Fort Worth to interview Kevin Miller. He is one of my favorite book boyfriends (of my own creation).

After giving up full-time life on his family’s ranch, he opened his own company and renovates historical buildings across the country. He’s still a cowboy on the weekends, though. I think that is what draws me and his fiancée, Amber Grayson, to him the most.

So I pull up to the modest brick home in Fort Worth all giddy.

Amber, who is always elegant, greets me at the door wearing a pair of black flared legged pants and a dark grey shimmery blouse. Suddenly I’m dumpy in my carefully chosen outfit. But I’m still doing the happy dance in my head.

I get to be alone with Kevin, I sing internally.

“I’m so sorry. Kev hurt his leg on a job site yesterday so he’s not dressed.”

I’m even happier. “That’s fine. How long was he onsite?”

“Three weeks. Well, nineteen days.” (Guess she’s counting)

Amber leads me through the foyer into a dark wood paneled living room and there he is.

Kevin Miller, dark hair curling at his ears, a sparkle in his light brown eyes, and a wide grin over his broad sun-tanned face. I plop down into a chair facing the sofa where his leg is propped up on pillows.

(He’s dressed – cargo shorts and a Green Day T-shirt is dressed in my book.)

“Can I get you something to drink, Vallory?” Amber asks.

I’m forcing up an answer.

Y’all the way in which Kevin is eyeing this woman is bordering on being a bit much.

“I’d like something, Sweetpea. A glass of water, please.”

“Ahh…Vallory?” Amber focuses only on me and I know why. The temperature just rose a zillion degrees. Kevin has that Texas twang that is sexy as all hell.

“Water.” I fumble with my recording equipment while Amber retreats into the kitchen. “Thank you so much for agreeing to talk with me. Did you read any of the previous works? Did you know I spoke with your sister-in-law? And uhm…how do you like the new house?” The damn wires tangle because I’m nervous and trying not to think about whether or not this is the sofa near which the smiling man before me first asked Amber if he could spank her.

“Ms. Vance, how many questions are there?” Kevin leans his head back into the sofa’s arm getting a full view of his wife-to-be bending over to place two glasses of water on the coffee table.

“Just a few.”

“Good, because I have a physical therapy session soon.” He laughs, gliding his hand down Amber’s leg.

“Kevin!” Amber scrambles out of the room. Even though she is dark skinned, I can see the blush in her cheeks. We both know Kevin Miller ain’t talking about rehabilitation exercises.

“Kevin, I thought we’d play the popular ‘boyfriend tag’ with you today and ask some questions about your relationship with Amber Grayson.”

“Shoot.”

“She’s sitting in front of the TV what is on the screen?”

“Amber doesn’t watch a lot of TV. Occasionally, she’ll watch a travel show.”

“You’re out to eat what kind of dressing does she get on her salad?”

“None, this girl is seriously into healthy eating. I tell her good food is part of enjoying life.”

“What size shoe does she wear?”

“I’m not answering that. Are you trying to get me in trouble?”

“Whats her favorite music?”

“Amber likes old school jazz and R&B. I’ll tell you what she hates – hard rock. That’s my favorite.”

“What’s her eye color?”

“She has the most amazing eyes. They are warm and dark and…soothing. I don’t think that’s a color, is it?”

Oh, I think it is.

“What is something you do that she wishes you wouldn’t do?”

“Smoke cigars.”

“What’s her heritage? Where’s she from?”

“Amber is African –American, born in Guam. The majority of her family is in Virginia though her parents live in California. She’s lived everywhere.”

“What is one unique talent she has?”

“I’m not answering that one either, Ms. Vance.”

“What was your thought when you saw Amber for the first time?”

“Hahhh…I’m pleading the fifth on that one as well. Let’s just say, I was attracted to her and wanted to get to know her better. When I did…well, this upcoming wedding was meant to be.”

TheBeginningofForeverAwww, now I feel bad. Evil writer! He’s so cute and so in love.

Amber Grayson, a conservative executive, found true love with fiancé, Kevin Miller. He infused her life with a sense of adventure and challenged her thoughts about appropriate bedroom behavior. After such a steamy affair, Amber was expecting nothing less during their engagement.

Even with the rushed timetable for the wedding combined with the stress of merging their households and finances, Amber is excited to begin a family with the man of her dreams. However, the beginning of forever is more difficult than either of them thought.

Locked in a battle of wills, Amber and Kevin find their commitment to each other and their future tested. Is this the beginning of their lives together or the end?

Available from: Amira Press, Amazon

Don’t forget to check out the video on YouTube: forever

3 thoughts on “Boyfriend Tag with Kevin Miller

  1. What a wonderful interview with Kevin. He and Amber are one of my favorite couples. I can’t wait for The Beginning of Forever. Great post, Val! 🙂

  2. Pingback: What Brings You to the Blog? | valloryv

Leave a Reply

