Spotlight on Renzo by Jamallah Bergman

I’m so pleased to welcome the talented and lovely, Jamallah Bergman to the blog today! 

About Ms. Bergman

1371209_10151914665039185_933426533_jamallahWell I am a single parent of a teenager daughter who is the light of my life even though sometimes as most teens do, she gets on my nerves, lol. I live in Atlanta GA but I’m originally from Jamaica Queens New York. I’m a Aries…and I like chocolate…..Cobalt Blue glass items….and rainy days,lol….yeah I know that sounds pretty corny there doesn’t it. But I do like those things though for sure,lol. I am 40 years of age and a true friend to the end….I am a hugger….so if you meet me in person and I find out who you are, you will get a huge hug from me.

I am also a writer of Interracial Romance both Contemporary and Interracial and as of today, I have eight books published with my publisher Secret Cravings Publishing.

Find Jamallah online –

Website: http://jamallahbergmansstoriesoflove.weebly.com/index.html

Author Blog: http://jamallahbergmansstoriesoflove.weebly.com/guest-whos-come-to-talk-with-me.html

When did you start writing and why?

I’ve always been writing for as long as I can remember, from back when I was in middle school, I would write short stories about dreams that I had about celebrities. But I really didn’t become a published author until 2011 with my 1st book “If…Only You Knew”. I basically starting writing because like all writers we have a story to tell that has to be told and I have plenty of stories within my mind that are good and need to be told. So why not share the love with those that really enjoy what I write about.

If you are a parent how does being a parent affect your writing and writing habits? Or does it?

Actually it really doesn’t change how I write much at all. I still write the same crazy stuff that I’ve been writing over the years. Nothing much has changed.

Who is your favorite author and why?

I really don’t have a favorite one….I really like them all.

What do you hope to accomplish with your writing?

Well I hope that once a reader sits down and take a look at what I’ve written that they can relate to my characters and the trials and tribulations that they have to go through to either get over the problems of their past to make way for a future with the one that they have fallen in love for. We all go through things in life that make it hard to move on into something that scares us, like a relationship with a man or a woman. So with my characters, you will see something in them that the reader will be able to relate a bit because they see what they’ve had to go through in their life.

Traditional or Self-publishing? Why?

Right now I am with a traditional publisher, Secret Cravings Publishing but I have thought about self-publishing though in the future.

Talk about your journey into the wide world of publishing?

Well it started with the help of a website and a new found friend who was also a fellow author.

I had been going to a website for authors who would go and either write about topics or just post their work on different things that they were working on. And I had been going on there for a number of months. I had posted some of my work as well as made comments and write small articles on topics that really hit a nerve with me.

Well I had met an author by the name of Mike Arsuaga, he writes about shape shifters and write not only himself but also with his wife too. Well I had been talking with him off and on and I told him that I had been writing for some time and I had a story that I had wanted to get out in print but no one wanted to print it because it was too short they said. So he told me about the publisher that he was with, Secret Cravings Publishing. He stated that they were always looking for new authors and all I had to do was submit my story.

So after looking everything over, I went and submitted my story and within a couple of weeks, I got a response back and that is how my writing career began. I don’t think I cannot stop thanking Mike for helping me along the right path. He’s truly an inspiration.

Tell us about your books?

Well my latest book Renzo is the 1st book of a 4 book series called “The Ciprianos of Kellington”. Each book will be dealing with a brother, Book 1 is about Renzo, the oldest, then there is Simone, Gianni and the youngest Federico. I really have enjoyed writing about Renzo as well as Simone, which is in the process of proofs, along with Gianni which I find his story very funny as well as nerve wracking. Each brother I have to say love very much and I honestly hope that those that read about these handsome and generous men will love them just as much as I do.

Renzo’s story basically tells about Renzo the owner of Filomena’s, a very popular restaurant in town. He’s handsome, charming and single, those three words are pretty much deadly and even more so when you are a Cipriano man. Most of the men have always had a rep as being a ‘player’ but this isn’t what Ren is about. Renzo is looking for love not a one night stand and that’s pretty hard when you have a crazy ex-wife always bugging you all the time. But Renzo soon finds it in the most unlikely of places, an antique store. This is where he meets Jaslyn Whitman, the owner of Timeless Treasures. Renzo has never met a woman like her and soon he decides to pursue her, despite the fact that Jaslyn has no plans on being another notch on a Cipriano man’s belt.

I won’t go into anything more but you get the jest of the story. *wink*

What inspired you to write in this genre?

Well mainly I write about Interracial Romance is because it’s something that is near and dear to my heart. I have always found the topic interesting for at one time it was very much taboo to be in an interracial relationship and even now in 2013, it’s still a touchy subject to some people. When I write about my characters, I don’t dwell on the color of the character’s skin only the way they get along and how they fall in love with one another towards the end.

Tell us why we should love or hate your main character?

Renzo is the quintessential man, at least I think so, he not only is a caring and loving soul but he’s compassionate of others feelings especially that of Jaslyn. He tries his best to show her that for one she can be loved and also to mainly not believe all that you hear from others. Which is something that folks do sometimes….they end up believing the hype that was brought up except for actually finding out the truth about a person.  Not to mention he loves to whisper Italian when he’s holding you close or just whispering in your ear *sighs and faints*

Do your books have a soundtrack?

No Renzo doesn’t have a soundtrack….I had wanted to make a trailer for Renzo BUT I said that I would wait for all four to come out and probably do one for all of them.

1379120_10151914664319185_1653528937_renzoRenzo, Simone, Gianni and Federico Cipriano

Each brother was thriving on their own working in what they were best in doing.

But it’s their mother’s wish for her son’s to find love and happiness like she had with their father, since they have not only been well known for their work ethics but also for their sexual conquest.

Watch as the Cipriano brothers of Kellington try and find love in probably some of the most unlikely of places. Along the way you’ll meet some of the women who take their hearts as well as their minds on a whirlwind ride like no other.

Renzo, the oldest Cipriano brother, lives a life that consists of working at his restaurants, dealing with customers as well as with a persistently aggravating ex-wife. He never had the chance to find the one thing that eluded him the most…..love.

That was until he walked into her store that rainy afternoon…..

Jaslyn Whitman, owner of Timeless Treasure Antiques, lives for a sale as well as making other people happy with the things she has in her shop. Being the ‘new girl in town’, she of course has been on the radar of some men. But she mainly tries to put work over dating men whose only intentions are to get her into bed.

Who thought tall dark and handsome would walk through her door?

Once these two meet, sparks immediately fly…for Renzo. Jaslyn however isn’t ready to deal with what would happen if she got involved with a Cipriano man. It’s up to Renzo however to show Jaslyn that there is more to him than just rumors and lies.

Get Your Copy Here:

2 thoughts on “Spotlight on Renzo by Jamallah Bergman

  1. Pingback: Haven’t Been Around Much Lately (Sad Face) | valloryv

Leave a Reply

