It’s Okay to Say It ~ Infertility

Infertility?

Why in the Hell is that mentioned on a romance author’s blog?

Here’s why:

  • I don’t have the numbers on this so I’m guessing when I say that the majority of readers of the romance genre are women.
  • However, according to the CDC, 6.1 million women in the US have trouble getting pregnant or staying pregnant.

Somewhere these two circles must intersect.

Raises hand from the back of the room.

At sixteen, I was told that I couldn’t carry a child to term without medical intervention.

But you have three kids, you’re saying to yourself!

And each time that I see a new OB/GYN, he or she is as surprised as you are that that I have given birth to three live children in my forty-two years. You see, hubby and I couldn’t afford the intervention. We just got lucky.

The point is I read romances.

Who also reads romances is a dear friend who after years of pills and injections, traveled to China to pick up her daughter. The numbers on her ovulation dice never beat the house.  

Fast forward thirteen years and is her love for a mouthy teenager any less than the love I have for mine? Hell, no! We both are commiserating souls about our relationship with these once frilly dress wearing  babes turned hormonal fanged creatures overnight.

While I thank you, gentle reader reviewers of my labor of love, it’s okay to say that the central conflict of The Beginning of Forever is the infertility of the heroine.

Amber has come to terms with this. And she’s really, really okay with it. She loves her daughter more than anything.

TheBeginningofForeverAdd Amber and Kevin’s story to your TBR list and tell me if I’m right or wrong in the path I chose for the ending:

Leave a Reply

